An Inspiring Article on Starting a Farm from the Seed Hopper, High Mowing Seeds’ Blog

By Katie Spring employee of High Mowing Seeds and co-owner of her own new farm, Good Heart Farmstead

I didn’t know what to expect in May 2009 when I started my first day as a farm crew member.  It was on a small start-up farm in Northfield, Vermont called the Green Mountain Girls Farm.  It was their first year running a veggie CSA, I was their first employee, and as the season progressed there were many more firsts to be had.  Fresh out of college with a BA in Environmental Studies and English, I decided to spend the summer on a farm, deepen my relationship with the food I ate, and hopefully start to eat meat again. (I knew that if I were to give up vegetarianism after six years, I’d have to be intimately connected to the animal I ate.)

Read the rest by clicking here!

Leave a Reply

